Nip + Fab Bee Sting Lifting Mask | Review

Bee sting facial mask from Nip + Fab

If you didn’t catch it, Amazon had a massive Nip + Fab sale quite recently. Naturally I added pretty much everything I’d ever looked twice at to my basket. Among the haul was the Nip + Fab Bee Sting Face Mask.

It claims to reduce the appearance of fine lines and plump up your face. Now I’m at the ripe ol’ age of 23, but I have plenty of frown lines and (despite looking miserable) I also have a few laughter lines – get me!

Do bee sting face masks hurt your face?
No, not at all. I was expecting a slight tingle or a warming sensation for the mask, but no, there was nothing. You’d think they’d put a sneaky heating agent into the mix just for the excitement. Alas, this was quite a boring experience.

How do they harvest the venom for bee sting face masks?
It’s no secret that wild bees are dying in their thousands. Unfortunately, a while ago bees were also dying as part of the harvesting process for cosmetics too. As you may well know, once a bee uses its stinger it dies. So in harvesting the venom, the little bees lost their stinger and went to bee heaven.

These days cosmetic companies use a thin sheet of soft paper to collect the venom. They harass the bees and provoke them to use their stinger on the thin sheet. It manages to absorb the venom whist making sure their stinger doesn’t get stuck. They don’t die, but I don’t think it sounds like they’ll be having a good time during this process. 

I must admit, I don’t feel comfortable using bee sting products after researching this, who wants to piss off bees?

The final verdict
The gel is completely translucent and smells a little clinical. It’s not too strong though, so don’t worry about it overpowering your mask experience. Upon using the product, I was quite shocked at how much was actually in the tube. At first I was greeted with a disappointing puff of air; no product just empty space.

I usually love the Nip+Fab range, but unfortunately this product did nothing for me. It actually left my skin feeling as if it had a rubbery coating, despite thoroughly washing off all the residue. I was left feeling disappointed and saw no difference in the fine lines around my forehead and mouth.

Perhaps I’m not quite the target market? Maybe my fine lines aren’t deep enough to notice a difference? I’m trying to find excuses and I’m failing.

Of course, I hate bad mouthing products so I gave it another whirl a few days later. Unfortunately I only put myself through the same hassle. I asked my partner for a second opinion to make sure I wasn’t just being silly, only to hear ‘Your cheeks feel a bit like a pebble’.

A pebble.

I basically popped my feminist morals aside trying out an anti-aging product and my vegetarian morals aside by pissing off bees – all to feel like a rock.

So I can’t say I would recommend this product, whilst I still love Nip+Fab in general. If you love bees, you’ll hate this. If you’re not a fan of bees, you’ll still have a face like a pebble.

Tell your mates about this post:

22 Comments

  1. April 6, 2016 / 12:38 pm

    I haven’t tried any Nib+Fab products yet, but I really want to. It’s a shame this one didn’t work for you though x

    Telina | Love, Telina

  2. April 6, 2016 / 2:28 pm

    Im so disappointed. I’ve wanted to try this mask for ages and I can’t believe it wasn’t amazing like I thought it would be. I also really don’t like the way the bee venom is harvested. Not one I’ll be trying 🙁

    Love and Feathers,
    The Owlet
    http://www.theowletblog.blogspot.com

  3. April 6, 2016 / 2:55 pm

    Great post Jessica! A friend recently told me about this stuff and I was planning to try it! I’m glad I read your review before I did! Thanks 🙂 X

  4. April 6, 2016 / 4:38 pm

    I don’t think I could buy or use this product, it sounds like bee abuse 🙁

    • Admin
      Author
      April 6, 2016 / 4:41 pm

      That’s what I thought :(. I was so silly to just add it to my basket during the sale!

  5. April 6, 2016 / 5:10 pm

    I couldn’t stop giggling reading this – I love a good blog that is full of honesty and humour. Thank goodness you got this in the Amazon sale hey? I’m 33 – so maybe this might be worth a punt…but then I do like bees too and worry that this whole bee harassment for a product I might not like and probably only use once might sit on me badly?!

    Thank you for sharing!

    Leigh at Fashion Du Jour LDN HQ x
    http://www.fashiondujour.co.uk

  6. April 6, 2016 / 9:51 pm

    I have this to try and I am intrigued just because of the name x

  7. Top Style Advice
    April 6, 2016 / 11:06 pm

    I do love a face mask, although will need to give Nib + Fab a go! Good blog, enjoyed reading it.

    • Admin
      Author
      April 7, 2016 / 8:47 am

      Yeah definitely! I wouldn’t recommend this mask but I’ve tried a few other bits from their range that are amazing. The Yoga bath set is high on my list of ‘best products ever‘.

  8. April 7, 2016 / 1:11 pm

    I love your comment – who wants to piss of bees 🙂 Shame this wasn’t for you

  9. April 7, 2016 / 2:19 pm

    I usually like Nip+Fab too, especially their CC cream, maybe it is just an age thing, your skin does look young and fabulous!

  10. Joanne Mallon
    April 8, 2016 / 2:23 pm

    It’s probably a good thing that it didn’t make your skin tingle, because that would have indicated irritation or an allergy. But at 23 you really, really don’t need an anti-ageing product. Plenty of time for that later. In the meantime, the thing that will make the most difference to how your skin ages is using sunscreen every day.

    • Admin
      Author
      April 8, 2016 / 2:47 pm

      Yes! I’m so glad you mentioned that because I think this tip is SO underrated. Not only does it make you feel like you’re on holiday every morning, sunscreen protects you from everyday glare that we tend to forget about. Good shout Joanne!

  11. April 8, 2016 / 2:59 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try these products for ages, it’s a shame that they don’t seem to be worth the money.

  12. Amy
    April 9, 2016 / 9:23 am

    I only tried my first Nip & Fab product a few weeks ago and I was really impressed. I almost picked this up but decided not to – glad I didn’t now! I can’t believe that’s how they harvest the bed venom – it’s put me off!

    Amy

  13. April 9, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    Lovely review! Thanks for that – I don’t think I can deal with harming bees so will definitely be giving this a miss. I actually didn’t realise it actually had bee sting venom.

  14. April 11, 2016 / 10:55 am

    I feel awful but I had such a giggle at this article. I love how brutally honest you’ve been about the bee-stinging situation. It’s so refreshing and reassuring to see. Won’t be trying it after this, and I neither want to piss off the bee’s, would never have thought of that if I hadn’t read this!

  15. Roxie Watt
    April 11, 2016 / 11:06 am

    This product sounds really disappointing… and a little mean! Poor bees. I have the Dragon’s Blood mask and it gives my skin a nice fresh and plump appearance about it.

    Roxie | The Beautiful Bluebird

  16. April 20, 2016 / 12:21 pm

    I have not heard of this brand before so thanks for informing. Loving the review, will check the brand out x

  17. May 4, 2016 / 11:48 am

    Oh what a shame! I’ve always had good experiences with Nip + Fab.
    I have to say, though, I hadn’t ever considered how they get bee venom for products like this – I guess I’d always assumed it was synthetic? Definitely an interesting point, thanks for raising it!!

    Jess xo

  18. Francesca
    May 9, 2016 / 10:08 am

    Oh now I’m dissapointed!! When you explained what this product was for I got a little giddy inside! (I’m only 24 but there are lines I’d like to see abolished!!) Really rubbish that it did nothing and also pissed me off a little that they hassle these bees to get their venom! This is a product I’ll leave out!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.